The San Francisco 49ers sent shock waves throughout the NFL by hiring Fox analyst and Hall Of Fame candidate John Lynch as their general manager. It’s believed he will be paired with presumptive head coach Kyle Shanahan.

John Lynch was an All Pro safety for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers  where he won a super bowl being apart of an all time great defense. He finished his career with the Denver Broncos which helped him gain a strong relationship with now successful executive vice president of football operations and general manager John Elway.
The hiring of Lynch shocked many people from the scouting community all the way down to the 49er fans. There will be some resement from scouts because Lynch has zero experience in scouting talent for an NFL organization, but as Lynch said

“I know what I don’t know…But what I do know, I know football…I know people and I know how to lead”.

The 49er faithful have been put through hell these past three years after the 49ers and former head coach Jim Harbaugh parted ways. The faithful for years knew the problem in the front office was with Trent Baalke, who literally ruined this football team. San Francisco went from three straight NFC championship appearances to being compared to the Cleveland Browns as the laughing stock of the NFL. With John Lynch on board as GM there’s that new found hope he & Kyle Shanahan can bring glory back to the 49ers.

img_9196img_9295

49er Faithful Reactions

Let’s take a look at the faithful reactions to this hiring of John Lynch as the new general manager who has zero experience putting an NFL roster together.

I’m actually cool why the hiring, questionable. But I think it’ll work out, I’m hearing he has tons of connections. That’s good for him in my opinion. For him to say he wants players that really want to play and breathe football, that’s good.. He won’t be drafting injured players. He reminds of what Mckenzie did with the Raiders, got rid of the bums and kept players that contribute to get wins. And I have a feeling Shanahan and Lynch will work out for the best of the organization. Just keep in mind, they’re going to rebuild.. We won’t see a final product for at least two seasons. 

@EastBayDFresh 

When I first heard about Lynch, I gotta admit it was a head scratcher but as looked into it more and started to hear from people who have been around him for an extended period of time I like the hire more and more. The guy has been around the game his entire life, brings a certain level of credibility to the franchise and is a great communicator and seems to be a person that knows how to work with people, which is what this franchise is sorely lacking. PLUS I think Young Shanny is the big Get for this franchise and whatever you needed to do to get him in the building you make it happen. He’s got the juice and I think him and Lynch will have a great relationship now they have to turn that into W’s. 

@IamKdiddy

Like most, initial I was (almost) angry. I didn’t like that we bypassed qualified candidates and selected someone with zero experience. 9 candidates agreed to interview and the 1 we selected was completely unknown. After the dust settled, I have come to learn more about the MAN. I like who Lynch is as a person. Now, I’m as neutral as possible. I will watch him build his staff and then develop an opinion based off that. Initially… Like most, initially I was (almost) angry. I didn’t like that we bypassed qualified candidates and selected someone with zero experience. 9 candidates agreed to interview and the 1 we selected was completely unknown. After the dust settled, I have come to learn more about the MAN. I like who Lynch is as a person. Now, I’m as neutral as possible. I will watch him build his staff and then develop an opinion based off that.

@49ersMike_NF 

I wasn’t happy about the Lynch hire at first but I’m very excited now honestly. He has my full support #GoNiners 

@AnthonyH21

I believe the hiring is a mystery but can turn out great. There were a lot of candidates that had the qualifications but the 49ers went with what the potential head coach wanted. What scares me. I believe that he will not know what to do on the offensive side of the ball I believe the org should keep Kap but I believe that they will release him. The good thing that I believe that lynch will bring to the 49ers is that he will make the defense elite again. We have some talent but with the right mix a vets and functional rookies that can really play the position The defense can be stout again. 

@sfbaydrumner 

Personally I like the hire, he is what we need, he’s not just another suit, he’s Firey former player..baalke was too stoic and dry..SB champ / HOF’er (most likely) has tutelage from Walsh, gruden, belicheck, shanahan (mike), people are mad because he wasn’t in their ‘box’. Stanford educated, and one of the hardest hitting safetys to play the game.

All in all.. These idiots (fans) really have no clue about GM’s they are just going with the national media narrative. But not one person has anything bad to say about lynch. I had ZERO experience when I started my job 10 years ago.. And now I am a foreman in the microbiology laboratory.. They knock his experience, but he will succeed

@49ers bloodline 

I have mixed emotions about it, but only because of his inexperience in a front office. Other than that though he has a great football mind and has some clout around the NFL so that’s a positive. I’m glad he hired Adam Peters, that was big. I think he’ll make the right decisions for us going forward as well. Overall good hire cause of his football mind I just hope that it’s a John Elway hire and not a Matt Millen one.

@DionCarolina

Well. I think it’s a typical York move to have all these interviewees and come out of left field with Lynch. Who wasn’t even a candidate. I find that funny. Could he be worst than baalke? I hope that’s not the case. 6 year deal? That’s a little too much especially for a guy with 0 experience. I do appreciate the fact that he’s PLAYED the game though. We shall see what happens. 

-@EMDENISSE

But I like the hire. The Niners are finally going in the right direction. Like if I’m gonna compare it to something, I’m gonna say if we were a baseball player, we’d be 3-3 right now and a hit shy of the cycle. Fired Baalke, biggest move. Hired Shanahan, SB coordinator and just flawless with the offensive book this year. And then he hires Peters with him for player personnel which is huge because Baalke and his personnel was trash as shit. M I think it’s a good hired especially from who and what we just had. 

-@GamerbabeJess

